A Stunning Antique French Silver and Crystal Confiturier by Charles Antoine Amand LENGLET.
Though the term ‘Confiturier’ literally means Jam Holder, it appears that originally it was mostly used as a ceremonial sugar bowl.
It is nowadays extremely rare to find “Confiturier” still showcasing intact spoon holders, as well as their spoons, hence the importance of this piece!
Let us start by the upper part:
The cover or lid is slightly dome shaped and circled by a line of silver pearls on its edge, while a larger décor of a floral scroll highlights the center of the lid.
The ‘Frétel’ or Finial is represents a gerbera decorated on its outer edge by tiny rosettes.
The finial rests on a silver crown etched with palmettes.
The Confiturier’s main part is shaped as a Medicis Vase.
The upper register of the vase is lined with a circle of solid silver decorated on its edge by Acanthus leaves. It also features twelve solid silver spoon holders stretching out along its rim.
The handles consist of two delicately decorated floral scrolls ending in a rosette.
The Main register of the Medicis Vase is lovely and quite rare!
It showcases a charming Putto or young Bacchus driving a chariot pulled by two beautiful butterflies.
The design is exquisite!
The side register shows a floral design stamped with an antique head circled by a laurel wreath flanked by two torches.
The square base rests on four Lions paws showcasing rosettes and wings….
The upper part of the pedestal is carved with dolphins and grape vines.
The insert is clear solid crystal decorated with wheel cut facettes, it is original to the piece, and in perfect condition.
This is just a wonderful work of art!
It can also be put to use as a Beautiful Caviar Serving Bowl.
A gorgeous way to use it as a matter of fact!
The Hallmark is ‘Poinçon Au Vieillard’ -1st title -1819-1838- Paris
The Makers Mark for the Confiturier is that of Charles Antoine Amand LENGLET.
It shows A standing Lion looking to the left and circled by the letters C.A.A.L.
LENGLET registered his mark on October 25th, 1823. The Mark was cancelled on August 6th 1843.
His workshop was located 32 rue du Bourg l’Abbe in Paris.